The Innovative Spirit of George Crumb 3

This November we celebrate the legacy of the innovative American composer, George Crumb. Across four performances, as part of the ANAM end of year Chamber Music Festival, journey into the musical world of George Crumb – a composer whose music transcends time – and those influenced by his ideas.

At the heart of this festival are the great works of Crumb: Makrokosmos – an exploration of the world the artist inhabits and how they can live in it; Black Angels, the deeply moving and at times confronting depiction and exploration of death, war and humanity; and Vox Balaenae, a work that speaks of the plight of the natural world, and how it’s destruction is at the hands of humanity. As we currently grapple with war, climate change and a rapidly changing world, these works have a profound moral imperatives that are as relevant today as they were half a century ago.

The musicians of ANAM come together not only to mount these iconic works, but also pieces by Crumb students Jennifer Higdon and Osvaldo Golijov, composers influential on Crumb such as Edgard Varèse and Franz Schubert, as well as those working with his concepts today like Ross Edwards. Together, these composers share a curiosity and imagination that will guide you on a mesmerising musical journey.


Harry Egerton (QLD) violin
Sola Hughes (QLD) violin
Jamie Miles (VIC) viola
Shuhei Lawson (QLD) cello


Maria Zhdanovich (SA) flute
Alexandra King (VIC) oboe / recorder
Clare Fox (NSW) clarinet
Dario Scalabrini (QLD) bass clarinet
Kina Lin-Wilmoth (VIC) bassoon
Calen Linke (WA) horn

CRUMB Cello Sonata

Joshua Jones (QLD) cello


Laura Cliff (NSW) flute
Georgia White (VIC) clarinet
Calen Linke (WA) horn
Koominka (NSW) trumpet
Harrison Steele-Holmes (VIC) trombone
Jesse Vivante (WA) percussion
Aditya Bhat (VIC) cimbalom
Adrian Biemmi (WA) violin
Louise Turnbull (VIC) violin
Harry Swainston (QLD) viola
Adrian Whitehall (NSW) double bass

T MONK Round Midnight

Nic Corkeron (QLD) trumpet
Ronan Apcar (NSW) piano
William Taber (NZ) double bass

CRUMB Eine Kleine Mitternachtsmusick after Thelonius Monk

Ronan Apcar (NSW) piano
Matthew Garvie (NSW) piano

Approximate duration: 1 hour and 25 minutes, including a 20-minute interval

Generously supported by Kerry Landman

Image credit: Nico Keenan


Planning on attending all of our The Innovative Spirit of George Crumb concerts in 2023? Book a package in a few easy clicks!

Plan Your Visit

Venue Information
Ticketing Policy
Our COVIDSafe Plan


ANAM Radio · ANAM's Artistic Director, Paavali Jumppanen speaks with Annie McLoughlin about George Crumb on 3CR
Back to top