2019 ANAM Prizewinners and ANAM Chamber Music Competition Results

Chamber Music

The 2019 ANAM Chamber Music Competition Final on Sunday 24 November was a unique opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of our musicians, and a successful conclusion to the year. 

It was also an opportunity to celebrate Ian McRae's leadership as Chair of ANAM’s Board for over 10 years with a special performance of Adagio from Mozart's Serenade no. 10 ‘Gran Partita’ by ANAM Artistic Director Nick Deutsch, Resident Viola Faculty Caroline Henbest, Head of Strings Howard Penny, Head of Piano Tim Young and ANAM violinist William Huxtable.


However, the indisputable highlight of the day was the announcement of the results of the 2019 Chamber Music Competition. Congratulations to Bank Street Brass – Sophie Spencer (trumpet), Christopher Grace (trumpet), Josiah Kop (horn), Jackson Bankovic (trombone), and Sean Burke (tuba) – winners of the 2019 Chamber Music Competition with their electric performance of Dzubay's St Vitus’ Dance!


Congratulations are also due for the Penderecki Quartet, winner of the Musica Viva Prize for the 2019 Chamber Music Competition. Congratulations to Cameron Smith (clarinet), Ben Spiers (guest), Ruby Shirres (viola), and Caleb Murray (cello) for their oustanding musicianship!

ANAM Alumna and 2018 prizewinner Eliza Shephard (flute 2018) was invited on stage to award the Corelia Quintet Prize for the best performance of a piece by a female composer in an ANAM Recital. This award has been devised to encourage more support and performances of female composers’ works, and it's our pleasure to announce that Charlotte Miles (cello) received this prize for her performance of Nadia Boulanger's 3 Pieces for cello and piano.


A round of applause goes out to the recipient of ANAM Directors’ Prize, Edward Wang (oboe), and the recipient of the Gwen Nisbet Music Scholarship, Johnny van Gend (violin). See below for the full list of 2019 ANAM Prizewinners. 


ADFAS YARRA Prize for the Most Outstanding ANAM Recital Program

Joint recipients: Molly Collier-O’Boyle (viola) and Jennifer Yu (piano)
Special mention: James Knight (percussion)


Ursula Hoff Institute Prize for the Most Outstanding Performance in an ANAM Recital

Recipient: Harry Ward (violin)
Special mentions: James Morley (cello) and Sine Winther (piano)


Ursula Hoff Institute Prize for Outstanding Performance of a Mozart's Composition

Natasha Hanna (violin) for her performance MOZART Violin Concerto no. 5

Dean Prize for Best Performance of an Australian Work in an ANAM Recital

Lilly Yang (flute) for her performance of Carl VINE Sonata for flute and piano


Lorne and Ann Cole Prize

Rathdowne Quartet: Kyla Matsuura-Miller (violin 2018), Harry Ward (violin), Molly Collier-O’Boyle (viola), James Morley (cello)

St Silas Prize for an Outstanding First Year Musician

James Morley (cello)


ANAM Volunteers' Prize recognising an Exemplary ANAM Citizen

Liam Wooding (piano) 


A special mention must also be made of the following musicians who are departing ANAM:

Simon Baldwin (bass trombone), Jackson Bankovic (trombone), Laura Barton (violin), Pius Choi (trombone), Andrew Fong (clarinet), Natasha Hanna (violin), William Huxtable (violin), Emily Newham (horn), Caleb Murray (cello), Liam Oborne (violin), Maraika Smit (horn), Simon Svoboda (cello), Johnny van Gend (violin), Aziel Verner (violin), Giovanni Vinci (bass), Edward Wang (oboe), Carol Wang (bassoon), Caleb Wong (cello), and Liam Wooding (piano).

Congratulations to all new alumni for their outstanding achivements while at ANAM, and we look forward to hearing about their continuing adventures beyond the Professional Performance Program. 

After the presentation of prizes, the audience was invited to stay on for a glass of bubbles. To everyone who came to the final on Sunday, thank you for joining us as we celebrated our musicians' achievements this year!

Back to top