ANAM Recital: Ariel Postmus (viola)

ANAM Recitals are an opportunity for musicians to make their own personal musical statement, through performance, repertoire and presentation.

"I am absolutely thrilled to present my final viola recital at ANAM, which promises to be an exhilarating and diverse musical journey. The program opens with movement from the timeless beauty of Bach's Suite No.2, a captivating piece that showcases the emotional depth of the viola. I have chosen Brahms' Scherzo Movement from the F.A.E Sonata, which captures the quintessential romantic spirit paired with dark energy. To add a touch more virtuosity, I will perform the first movement of Rebecca Clarke's passionate Viola Sonata, a stunningly expressive composition with its intricate rhythms and soaring lyrical lines. To finish, we have Shostakovich's String Quartet No.3 that will bring the audience on a mesmerizing journey filled with dark hues and raw intensity as it delves into themes of mortality and introspection. Join me for this remarkable musical voyage that spans centuries and emotions."

J S BACH Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1008
BRAHMS III - Scherzo in C minor from F-A-E Sonata for piano and violin
CLARKE Sonata for Viola and Piano
SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No. 3 in F major, Op. 73

Ariel Postmus (WA) viola
Louisa Breen (ANAM Associate Faculty) piano
Liam Freisberg (QLD) violin
Adrian Biemmi (WA) violin
Isaac Davis (NSW) cello

Approximate duration: 50 minutes

Photo by Pia Johnson

Ariel’s training at ANAM is supported by ANAM Syndicate donors Vicki & Lawrence Jacks, Jan Williams, Merilyn & David Howorth, Jerry Koliha & Marlene Krelle, George Deutsch OAM and Kathy Deutsch, Andrea Goldsmith


Plan Your Visit

Venue Information
Ticketing Policy
Our COVIDSafe Plan
Back to top