Composers & WorksNatalie Williams

for violin
Composed for Emily Su
First performance: 14 May 2022

Performed at the ANAM Set Festival by
Emily Su (violin)

The ANAM Set · Natalie Williams's ‘Skripka’ performed by Emily Su | The ANAM Set

Program note:
Skrípka is a suite of four character pieces for violin soloist, exploring musical links from the instrument’s history. Each short movement presents musical ideas taken from this repertoire history of the instrument. Inspiration from the Baroque literature is presented in the opening Intrada, where the soloist carries a recitative-style line, embellished around functional harmony. The second movement is a frenzied, virtuosic piece in the style of Tartini’s “Devil’s Trill” Sonata (1799) and Paganini’s 24 Caprices. The third movement depicts a half-forgotten memory of a musical experience from the past. The closing chorale is written in four-part harmony for the single-line instrument, asking the player to annunciate each line as the chorale unfolds. This piece was written for ANAM violinist, Emily Su and is inspired by the works and repertoire that she most enjoys for the violin.

About the composer:
Natalie Williams is an Australian-born composer and United States Permanent Resident. Her works have been commissioned and performed by international ensembles including the Atlanta Opera, Omaha Symphony, the Berkeley Symphony the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, Musica Viva Australia, the West Australian Symphony Orchestra, the Canberra Symphony Orchestra, the Australia Ensemble, Adelaide Baroque, the Sydney and Melbourne Youth Orchestras, the Australian Youth Orchestra, Indiana University Chamber Orchestra, and the Plathner’s Eleven Chamber Ensemble (Germany), the Doric String Quartet (UK), the Pavel Haas Quartet (Czech Republic) and the Sydney Conservatorium Wind Symphony.

Composition prizes include; the Sue W Chamber Music Prize (2020), the Albert H. Maggs Award (2018), the Judith Lang-Zaimont prize from the International Alliance of Women in Music (2016), two-time winner of the Atlanta Opera Competition (2013 and 2015), winner of the Iron Composer competition (2010) and joint winner of the inaugural Schueler Awards for a new commission for the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra (2007). As a teaching composer, faculty positions include the Australian National University School of Music and the Hugh Hodgson School of Music at the University of Georgia, with teaching assistantships at the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University, and the Faculty of Music at the Melbourne Conservatorium.

More info:

Photo by Megagraphics Photography


Back to top