ANAM at MDCH: Haydn, Beethoven, Reich & Dahl

Our Melbourne-based musicians will come together to perform a selection of chamber works for brass, percussion and winds. ANAM percussionists kick off the concert with the minimalist and hypnotic Pieces for Wood by Steve Reich. This is followed by Dahl’s Music for Brass Instruments which draws on American folk dance rhythms and elements of jazz. The concert concludes with Beethoven’s Sextet for Winds, praised at the time of its premiere as “a composition which shines resplendent by reason of its lively melodies, unconstrained harmonies, and a wealth of new and surprising ideas”.

Tune in digitally in the comfort of your own home, or join us at the Athenaeum Theatre (adhering to Government guidelines, strictly limited in-person seats are available) – book early so you don’t miss out.

REICH Music for Pieces of Wood

Peter Neville ANAM Head of Percussion
John Arcaro ANAM Percussion Faculty
Alexander Meagher VIC percussion
Alison Fane VIC percussion
Nathan Gatenby QLD percussion

DAHL Music for Brass Instruments

Sophie Spencer NSW trumpet
Christopher Grace VIC trumpet
Josiah Kop VIC horn
Stuart Brennan trombone (guest)
James Littlewood VIC bass trombone
Sean Burke QLD tuba

BEETHOVEN Sextet for Winds op. 71

Cameron Smith VIC clarinet
Jarrad Linke WA clarinet
Jye Todorov VIC bassoon
Thomas St John VIC bassoon
Josiah Kop VIC horn
Rachel Shaw (horn 2013)

HAYDN String Quartet no. 49 in B minor op. 64, no. 2

Rathdowne Quartet:
Harry Ward
NSW violin
Kyla Matsuura-Miller (violin 2018)
Molly Collier-O'Boyle QLD viola
James Morley SA cello

Duration: approx. 60 mins

ANAM ticket proceeds will go towards an ANAM Musician Fund to directly support individual ANAM musicians.

Presented by ANAM and Melbourne Digital Concert Hall (MDCH)

Back to top