Warm Winds

‘Every instrument is like a person sleeping, whom I must wake to life,’ Nielsen once said, and there is something enchanted about the opening of his Wind Quintet, in which the bassoon seems to bring the other instruments joyfully to life. Nielsen’s radiant work is joined by another classic of the wind ensemble repertoire in this program. ‘Mozart is sunshine,’ Dvořák used to tell his composition students, and his only wind serenade, inspired by Mozart’s examples, is suffused with warmth and light.

The work of the Finnish composer Sebastian Fagerlund is wonderfully eclectic – informed by the major figures of the 20th century, from Bartok to the minimalists – yet it has a voice and identity all its own. He describes the opening movement of his Octet as ‘rhythmically charged and energetic…creating new multilayered situations that emerge and unfold in the music.’

Christoffer Sundqvist took part in the world premiere of Fagerlund’s Octet in 2017, and is as renowned for his pedagogy as for his playing. Who better to bring this glowing program to life?

Carl NIELSEN Wind Quintet op. 43
Sebastian FAGERLUND Octet Autumn Equinox
Antonín DVOŘÁK Serenade for Winds op. 44

Christoffer Sundqvist director/clarinet
ANAM Musicians

Download the Concert Program
Concert Program

This performance will run for approximately 100 minutes, including a 20-minute interval


For this event, tickets booked in advance are offered on a "pay what you wish" basis. In addition to a Standard price, we offer the option of paying A Little Extra for those who would like to contribute a little more, as well as the option of paying A Little LessRead more about the change here.

If you are booking over the phone, simply tell us your preferred ticket price. Tickets purchased at the door will be available at the Standard price and are subject to availability.

Plan Your Visit

Venue Information
Ticketing Policy
Our COVIDSafe Plan


Back to top