Time Travelling for Winds & Brass

Season Concert_STEFAN DOHR 2_Web Image

Under the direction of Stefan Dohr, Principal Horn of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, this program takes us on a journey from Mozart’s Vienna to 21st-century Paris; for, as Romantic as they are, the works by the young Richard Strauss, and Liszt’s pupil Joachim Raff, are infused with the spirit of Mozart’s wind music. Berio’s piece is a set of fractured fairy tales for speaker and wind quintet: stories of chickens, fawns, mice and cats that don’t quite go where you expect them to. There is also a powerful sense of theatre to the work by the contemporary French composer Vinko Globokar. Like Strauss and Raff, Brett Dean does some subtle time-travelling in his Three Pieces, music written for, and inspired by, the Berlin Philharmonic’s horn section, which takes as its starting point Mahler’s haunting writing for horns in his Symphony no. 3.

R STRAUSS Serenade
BERIO Opus Number Zoo
GLOBOKAR Avgustin dober je vin
B DEAN Three Pieces for Eight Horns
RAFF Sinfonietta

Stefan Dohr horn/director
ANAM Musicians

Duration: approx. 1.5 hours


Tickets for this event can be purchased with a Platinum Membership or a Flexi Membership. Single tickets are on sale from Wednesday 30 January 2019.

“The fox took the chicken out on the floor,
Poor silly chicken didn’t know the score...”
— from Barn Dance, the first piece in Opus Number Zoo
Text by Rhoda Levine

Stefan Dohr’s ANAM residency is generously supported by Kerry Landman

Photo by Simon Pauly

*Please provide proof of concession if purchasing concession tickets (full time student card or pension card) or proof of eligibility if purchasing Under 30s tickets (includes those aged 30 or younger).

Back to top