Symphony in no need of an orchestra


In the spirit of the musical The Book of Mormon (Parker/Lopez/Stone, 2011) and with an affectionate nod to Messiaen’s Catalogue d’Oiseaux (1958), Michael Kieran Harvey’s Catalogue des Errances Bibliques whimsically reinterprets each of the 25 chapters of The Encyclopedia of Biblical Errancy (Prometheus Books, 1995) as a homage to its punctilious author, C Dennis McKinsey. Scored for a barrage of ANAM keyboards and percussion, with narrator Arjun von Caemmerer reading his original text Bible Stories, and superb immersive sound by Lawrence Harvey (RMIT), this is a hilarious, high energy symphony without orchestra.

MK HARVEY Catalogue des Errances Bibliques (world premiere)

Michael Kieran Harvey piano/director
Timothy Young piano
Peter Neville percussion
Arjun von Caemmerer narrator
Lawrence Harvey electronics
ANAM Musicians

Presented in partnership with the RMIT University Sonic Arts Collection and SIAL Sound Studios, School of Design


Back to top