Surround Sound

This sonic spectacular for percussion and plural pianos includes four 20th century classics – works so dynamic they could have been written yesterday. Bartók’s fascination for the combination of keyboards and percussion reached its climax in this Sonata. The Rite of Spring, too, has lost none of its power since its riotous premiere in 1913, and this fascinating arrangement throws new light on the score’s visceral rhythmic impulses. Xenakis’ Persephassa of 1969 spreads the six percussionists around the performing space, creating a true sonic spectacle, while, in its simplicity and power, Reich’s Clapping Music, from 1972, represents a seminal moment in the history of minimalism – using only the kind of percussive effects created by hands clapping.

BARTÓK Sonata for 2 pianos and percussion
STRAVINSKY Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring) arr. for 4 pianos and percussion
REICH Clapping Music
XENAKIS Persephassa for 6 percussionists

Timothy Young piano
Peter Neville percussion
Speak Percussion
ANAM Musicians

Duration: approx. 2 hours (including interval)


Read more about this performance on our new blog post Surrounded by Sound

Timothy Young’s ANAM Faculty position is generously supported by Margaret Johnson

*Please provide proof of concession if purchasing concession tickets (full time student card or pension card) or proof of eligibility if purchasing Under 30s tickets (includes those aged 30 or younger).

Back to top