Soundbite: Metamorphosen


Soundbites are hour long lunch time concerts curated and performed by ANAM musicians. Throughout the year, these concerts feature diverse solo and chamber repertoire.

Violinist and conductor, Laura Barton, says Strauss' Metamorphosen is one of the most important works of the 20th century.

"It's my favourite piece in the world. This is my opportunity to share it with you." 

This Soundbite pairs Strauss' Metamorphosen with the slow movement from Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony, from which Strauss drew much inspiration.

BEETHOVEN Symphony no. 3 in E-flat major, op. 55 Eroica 2nd movt
R STRAUSS Metamorphosen, a study for 23 solo strings

Laura Barton NZ conductor
ANAM Musicians

Duration: approx. 1 hour

"I have an ambition: to earn renown not only as an orchestral musician, but also as a conductor. Since I was born, I’ve always known that this is who I am going to be. So, growing up, I explored viola, voice, piano, chamber music – and theory – until I finally discovered violin…but that's another story.” - Laura Barton

Discover more about Laura

Photo by Alan Wheedon Photography

Back to top