ANAM Recital: Simon Svoboda (Cello)


ANAM Recitals enable each musician to make their own personal musical statement, through performance, repertoire and presentation.

A recital of the first two Bach Cello Suites, performed by Simon Svoboda.

The Bach Cello Suites are still being played 300 years since their composition. I (Simon Svoboda) feel a very strong connection to this music, and performing this timeless music is one of my greatest joys in life. The improvisational qualities that this music provides allows me to feel at my peak of creativity on my instrument, and the countless existing interpretations of the suites is proof of Bach's genius. I am very excited to share my performance with you of the first two Bach Cello Suites (G major and D minor).

JS BACH Cello Suite no. 1 in G major BWV1007
JS BACH Cello Suite no. 2 in D minor BWV1008

Simon Svoboda QLD cello

Photo by Pia Johnson

Back to top