Préludes [Book 1]

Debussy100 is a 12-month project to mark the 100th anniversary of the death of Claude Debussy. Led by a collection of national and international pianists, hear the complete piano and chamber music of Claude Debussy, including 100 titled movements for the keyboard.

"Roy Howat possesses the qualities that transform a simple recital into a special event. His playing, a lesson in interpretation and a model of poetry, is of those who can captivate without demagogy, who can illuminate without pedantry."— La Tribune de Genève 

DEBUSSY Nocturne and Scherzo for cello and piano
DEBUSSY Intermezzo for cello and piano
CHAN Sonata no. 5 (from Six Sonatas for Diverse Instruments)
DEBUSSY La plus que lente
DEBUSSY D'un cahier d'esquisses
DEBUSSY L'isle joyeuse
DEBUSSY Préludes Book 1

Roy Howat piano
ANAM Musicians

Book three or more concerts with an ANAMates Flexi Membership and receive 20% off the single ticket prices.


Learn more

How can Debussy’s music be modern when it doesn’t sound modern? Listen to Roy Howat's recent interview with Andrew Ford on The Music Show HERE.

"[Howat is] renowned as an interpreter with an encyclopaedic knowledge of the minutiae of Debussy's piano musc" - Robert Orledge, The Musical Times

Roy Howat’s book The Art of French piano music was chosen as 2009 Book of the Year by International Piano, and earned citations including ‘Outstanding’ in International Record Review and ‘Editor’s Choice’ in Classical Music.  Equally enthusiastic reviews have appeared in Musical Times, Piano and Gramophone.

Debussy100 project presented in partnership with ABC Classic FM 

Roy Howat’s ANAM residency is generously supported by John and Meredith Baldwin

Lyle Chan’s commissioned work for this project has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body

Image by Fleur Kilpatrick

Back to top