Mozart, Haydn and More (various dates and venues)

ACO and ANAM 2019

Join Pekka Kuusisto, ACO Collective and ANAM Musicians as they tour this unique program to a variety of venues across Victoria and South Australia.

Charismatic Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto, Artistic Director of ACO Collective, brings international fame and a wicked sense of humour and personality to all his performances. For this tour he has built a program around Haydn’s Symphony no. 47 in G major. Haydn was no stranger to humour himself and this symphony is nicknamed 'The Palindrome', as the minuet and trio is written in such a way that the second half of each mirrors its first half.

Pekka continues this palindromic theme, beginning and ending with Pauline Oliveros’s The Tuning Meditation, followed and preceded by movements from Haydn’s symphony.

Two works have also been commissioned by Australian composer Heather Shannon, pianist of indie rock band The Jezabels, especially for this concert. Six Mozart country dances and two sections from Hindemith’s Ludus Tonalis – the opening movement, Praeludium, and its mirror image, Postludium – complete the journey.

OLIVEROS The Tuning Meditation
HAYDN Symphony no.47 Palindrome 1st and 2nd mvts
HEATHER SHANNON New Work (World Premiere*)
MOZART 6 Contredances: nos. 1, 2 and 3
HINDEMITH Ludus Tonalis: Praeludium arr. Bernard Rofe
HINDEMITH Ludus Tonalis: Postludium arr. Bernard Rofe
MOZART 6 Contredances: nos. 4, 5 and 6
HEATHER SHANNON New Work (World Premiere*)
HAYDN Symphony no.47 Palindrome 3rd and 4th mvts
OLIVEROS The Tuning Meditation

Pekka Kuusisto director/violin
ACO Collective
ANAM Musicians

Find out more at


Mount Gambier - Sir Robert Helpmann Theatre
Saturday 2 March
Buy Tickets

Hamilton Performing Arts Centre
Sunday 3 March
Buy Tickets

Melbourne Recital Centre
Tuesday 5 March
Buy Tickets

Bendigo - The Capital Theatre
Thursday 7 March
Buy Tickets

Wangaratta Performing Arts Centre
Saturday 9 March
Buy Tickets


READ our interview with violist Molly Collier-O'Boyle

READ why violinist Mana Ohashi is looking forward to this tour on page 6 of Music Makers Vol. 30

Presented in partnership with Australian Chamber Orchestra
*Commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra
Photo by Kaapo Kamu

Back to top