Mostly Mozart: Mozart & Bach

Containing one of the most beloved flute solos of all time, JS Bach’s Orchestral Suite no. 2 is treasured for its elegance and inventiveness. Among the lighter works Bach produced, the Suite suggests a lively and celebratory scene, and is filled with vibrant and entertaining movements. Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante also provides stunning parts for its wind soloists and is beautifully performed by the LA Philharmonic Wind Quintet. Intriguingly, Mozart lost the score and it was not performed in his lifetime. It was rediscovered around 1870 to the delight of listeners today.

BACH Suite no. 2 in B minor for orchestra BWV1067
MOZART Sinfonia Concertante for wind quartet and orchestra

LA Philharmonic Wind Quintet
     Denis Bouriakov flute
     Ricardo Barbosa oboe
     Boris Allakhverdyan clarinet
     Whitney Crockett bassoon
     Andrew Bain horn
ANAM Orchestra

Presented in partnership with Melbourne Recital Centre

Andrew Bain’s ANAM Faculty position isgenerously supported by Ann and Robert Ronus

*Concession price is available only to people that have a valid carer card, pension card or full time student card and you may be asked to show proof of eligibility

Back to top