Mostly Mozart: Magnificent Minor

Two exceptional violinists – ANAM Head of String Chamber Music Sophie Rowell and Polish violinist Jakub Jakowicz – direct ANAM musicians in two works of imperishable beauty. 

Bach’s violin concertos are so sublime that they’ve been described as the music angels play in heaven. This one, for two violins, with its overlapping, intertwining dialogue between the two soloists and the ensemble, is one of the glories of the Baroque. With its combination of rhythmic power and sustained songfulness, it leaps across the centuries to bring delight to a troubled world.  

Mozart’s symphony presents you with rockier emotional terrain. ‘Powerful’ will not do, nor will ‘dramatic’. Written in a blaze of inspiration in the summer of 1788, this tempestuous music is somehow uniquely Mozartian in its formal grace and harmonic ingenuity, but also looks forward to the new worlds of expressive possibility which would be explored by composers in the generations to follow.

Single Tickets will be on sale from 8 December.

Johann Sebastian BACH Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV1043
Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART Symphony no. 40 in G minor, K550

Sophie Rowell (ANAM Head of String Chamber Music) director/violin
Jakub Jakowicz director/violin
ANAM Orchestra

Sophie Rowell's ANAM Faculty position is supported by Sieglind D’Arcy

Jakub Jakowicz’s Artistic Residency at ANAM is sponsored by Meredith Baldwin

Season packages available:

4 Concert Package
Standard $168 ($145 Concession)
Book 4 concerts

3 Concert Package
Standard $129 ($108 Concession)
Book 3 concerts

Back to top