Lawrence Power: Shostakovich

Lawrence Power is one of the world’s greatest living violists, celebrated across the globe as an imaginative and brilliant musician. For his first ANAM residency, Lawrence has gathered together a collection of startling works, culminating with Shostakovich’s own arrangement for string orchestra of his eighth string quartet, a searing, grief-stricken work, and arguably his most celebrated opus. 

BIBER Battalia for strings and continuo
MOZART String Quintet no. 1 in B-flat major
WOOLRICH Ulysses Awakes (after Monteverdi)
SHOSTAKOVICH Chamber Symphony op. 110a

Lawrence Power violin/viola/director
ANAM Musicians

Book three or more concerts with an ANAMates Flexi Membership and receive 20% off the single ticket prices.

Learn more

Watch Lawrence Power discuss why the viola is such a special instrument (published by the Philharmonia Orchestra (London, UK)

"Lawrence Power is a player of poise, elegance and individuality. I have never heard a performance as interesting as Power’s” – Chicago Sun Times

"…Lawrence Power began playing viola when he was seven… Many viola players begin on the violin, the viola's smaller and more glamorous sibling in the string family. But for Power, the viola was never a second choice, or something he was forced to play as a boy because the school orchestra needed some viola fillers - a common experience, and one reason the instrument is the butt of so many orchestral in-jokes. "I just love the viola," he says. "I find its sound very touching, because it's very close to the sound and the range of the human speaking voice. It can sing, or be dramatic, and it has a lot of emotion in it when it's played well." – excerpt from The Guardian (2008)

Lawrence Power’s ANAM residency is generously supported by Ulrike Klein AO

This performance is generously supported by Arnold and Mary Bram

Image by Jack Liebeck


Back to top