Benjamin Britten & the String Quartet 1

Benjamin Britten’s First String Quartet dates from 1928 when the composer was just 15 years of age, and his last almost 50 years later from 1975, his final completed work. As with the quartets of Haydn, Beethoven and Shostakovich, his essays in this form encompass his life. In partnership with the consummate Australian String Quartet (of which two members are ANAM Alumni), this complex life is expressed through readings of these intimate and deeply personal musical letters.

Performance to be followed by complimentary light refreshments and an opportunity to meet the musicians.

BRITTEN Phantasy Quartet for oboe & string trio
BRITTEN 3 Divertimenti for string quartet
BRITTEN Movement for wind sextet
BRITTEN String Quartet no. 1 in D major op. 25

Nick Deutsch oboe
Australian String Quartet Musicians
  Francesca Hiew
  Stephen King viola
  Patrick Murphy cello
ANAM Musicians

Book three or more concerts with an ANAMates Flexi Membership and receive 20% off the single ticket prices.


Learn more

Sharon Draper (ASQ) on Britten’s String Quartet No. 1:
"This piece is incredibly atmospheric… the opening is actually very ambiguous and starts with the three upper voices almost up in the stratosphere with a pizzicato cadenza of the cello line underneath it. It's very unusual writing but I think it immediately captivates the audience and creates this atmosphere of being lost. The slow movement has almost the feel of a requiem to it but there's also great cheekiness particularly in the scherzo movement and there's incredible rhythmic drive and force in the last movement. It finally ends in triumph.” – Canberra Times 

The Australian String Quartet’s ANAM residency is generously supported by David and Gai Taylor

The position of ANAM Artistic Director (Nick Deutsch) is generously supported by Janet Holmes à Court AC

Image by Jacqui Way


Back to top