Brave New Worlds: Liberté, Égalité, Fraternite

Musical works act as aural records of turning points in the human story. This concert series offers a number of the most celebrated works of the canon, some reflecting major developments in thought and philosophy, and others showing the before and after of cataclysm.

Across four performances, the faculty and musicians of ANAM explore the breadth of political upheaval in music, from the enlightenment utopias of Mozart to the music born out of world war, to music birthed from revolution and protest, join us for this revolutionary journey to Brave New Worlds.

In one of the most loved musical anecdotes, a fourteen-year-old Mozart arrives in Rome, hears the Vatican choir sing Allegri’s famous Miserere and rushes back to his lodgings to write it out from memory. Allegri’s motet was a novel artefact from the hierarchical old world ruled by church dogma. Just 10 years later Mozart would write his ‘Gran’ Partita for winds, a sonic expression of the new world guided be Enlightenment values: reason, equality, and the pursuit of individual happiness. Translated into music that meant a musical language that was less complex that the learned older styles. We’ve entered a brave new world.  

Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART Serenade no. 10, Gran Partita K.361
Gregorio ALLEGRI Miserere mei, Deus

David Thomas (ANAM Head of Woodwind) director/clarinet
Evan Lawson conductor
ANAM Musicians

Photo by Pia Johnson


For this event, tickets booked in advance are offered on a "pay what you wish" basis. In addition to a Standard price, we offer the option of paying A Little Extra for those who would like to contribute a little more, as well as the option of paying A Little LessRead more about the change here.

If you are booking over the phone, simply tell us your preferred ticket price. Tickets purchased at the door will be available at the Standard price and are subject to availability.

Plan Your Visit

Venue Information
Ticketing Policy
Our COVIDSafe Plan


Back to top