Brass Spectacular: Pictures at an Exhibition

Many composers have wandered through Mussorgsky’s picture gallery, adding their own colours and musical personalities to the Russian composer’s exotic piano canvasses. None is more spectacular than Elgar Howarth’s glittering transcription of the ten piano solos for 16 brass instruments and percussion. Led by members of the Australian Brass Quintet, comprising Australia’s leading brass soloists, this mid-Autumn mid-morning promenade is sure to lift the roof off the South Melbourne Town Hall.

Performance followed by light refreshments and an opportunity to meet the musicians

LEDGER 2 Fanfares for brass
TAKEMITSU Day Signal (Signals from Heaven I)
TAKEMITSU Night Signal (Signals from Heaven II)
MUSSORGSKY (arr. HOWARTH) Pictures at an Exhibition  

Australian Brass Quintet
ANAM Musicians

2018 Packages and Memberships on sale now. Tickets for this event can be purchased now with a Platinum Membership or a Flexi Membership 


Learn more 

"Howarth's masterly rendition of Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition (1979) dwarfed all previous transcriptions" - Roy Newsome

Read more about ABQ in Birthplace of the Spectacular in Music Makers Vol25 (page 2)

Back to top