Beethoven, Haydn & Schubert

Gábor Takács-Nagy is the complete musician; a founding member of the Takács Quartet, he has gone on to become an inspirational conductor and teacher of chamber music performance. In this sumptuous concert, he directs ANAM musicians in a banquet of music from one of the golden ages of music in Vienna. Mozart composed his miraculous Symphony no. 25 when he was just 17; Haydn’s jubilant Symphony no. 90 on the other hand, is a product of the composer’s rich maturity, by which time his fame had spread through Europe. Beethoven’s rarely-heard Overture honours Hungary’s first king, while Schubert’s delicious Overture is better known as the one to the play Rosamunde; a publisher appropriated it for that purpose decades after Schubert’s death.

SCHUBERT Overture Die Zauberharfe
MOZART Symphony no. 25
BEETHOVEN Overture König Stephan
HAYDN Symphony no. 90

Gábor Takács-Nagy conductor
ANAM Orchestra

Duration: approx. 2 hours (including interval)


Read our Q&A with Gábor Takács-Nagy CLICK HERE

"Music can change someone’s life and make them a better person."



Watch Gábor Takács-Nagy conduct Mozart's Symphony no. 25 with the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra

Presented in partnership with Melbourne Recital Centre

The 2019 ANAM at Melbourne Recital Centre series is generously supported by Loris Orthwein

Gábor Takács-Nagy’s ANAM Residency is generously supported by Sieglind D’Arcy and the Serp Hills Foundation

Photo by Miguel Bueno

*Please provide proof of concession if purchasing concession tickets (full time student card or pension card).

Back to top