Mostly Mozart: Bach Meets Mozart

Caroline Henbest’s viola soars in uplifting classics from the great masters.

Violist Caroline Henbest joins the ANAM Orchestra for a morning of beautiful string music by great composers written in their most youthful, and mature periods. Mozart’s supremely elegant Clarinet Concerto in A was one of his final works. It is a shining example of all he perfected in his lifetime. This arrangement for viola retains the melodic glory that has made the concerto so famous. While Mozart’s work champions the solo instrument, Bach’s early cantata brings together a full ensemble of voices – in this case, the delightful combination of four violas and continuo. Exuding a similar mood is Carl Nielsen’s Suite for Strings, a great work of happiness, sadness, hope and resignation from his first opus.

The Mostly Mozart series of concerts provides an hour of wonderful music and the chance to catch up with friends and enjoy classical masterpieces performed in the acoustic beauty of Elisabeth Murdoch Hall.

JS BACH Gleichwie der Regen und Schnee vom Himmel fällt (Just as the rain and snow fall from heaven) BWV181 Sinfonia for four violas and continuo
MOZART Clarinet Concerto in A K622 arr. C Henbest for viola 
NIELSEN Suite for Strings op. 1

Caroline Henbest viola/director
ANAM Orchestra

Duration: approx. 1 hour (no interval)

Presented in partnership with Melbourne Recital Centre

MRC wordmark - mono RGB

Back to top