ANAM Recital: Alex Waite (piano)

WEB_WAITE, Alexander
ANAM Recitals are an opportunity for each ANAM musician to make their own personal musical statement, through performance, repertoire and presentation. 
The storm before the calm - chaos, order, transcendence.

Apart from being works of great subtlety, beauty and originality, what is perhaps more obviously striking about the Klavierstücke is their sense of clarity and order, and Stockhausen’s seemingly obsessive exploration and innovation of musical forms. This gave me the inspiration to place Klavierstück VII as a palate cleanser after the wild, pandemonious virtuosity of Finnissy’s Alkan-Paganini. I’ve chosen to end this Recital with one of Beethoven’s most transcendent, radiant, and life-affirming works - his Sonata in C major, the Waldstein.

L'escalier du diable from Etudes book II
BEETHOVEN Sonata no. 21 in C Major op. 53 Waldstein

Alex Waite (VIC) piano

Photo by Pia Johnson

Back to top