ANAM and Musica Viva Livestream

This livestream is hosted at

The ANAM Orchestra, led by ANAM Head of Chamber Music (strings) Sophie Rowell, collaborate with pianist Konstantin Shamray on an emotionally intense program.

As a 15-year-old student nearing the end of his first year at the Vienna Conservatory, Gustav Mahler composed one movement of a piano quartet, a work that always gives the impression that something bigger is struggling to emerge. Following Mahler’s own tradition of enlarging certain chamber pieces, this program includes an orchestration of the quartet, made by the outstanding violinist Harry Ward: an ANAM alumnus and a Musica Viva FutureMaker

Alfred Schnittke was keenly aware of his Soviet/German musical heritage, even as he stomped on it in heavy boots. Yet his piano concerto is a touching affirmation of his artistic roots, and his affection for Tchaikovsky makes the two Russians good bedfellows, the elder’s Serenade here prefaced by Estonian composer Mihkel Kerem’s Lamento, a work of searing beauty.

MAHLER Piano Quartet arr. Harry Ward World Premiere*
SCHNITTKE Concerto for Piano and String Orchestra
KEREM Lamento Australian Premiere
TCHAIKOVSKY Serenade for Strings op. 48 

Konstantin Shamray piano
Sophie Rowell director/violin
ANAM Orchestra
Harry Ward violin 

Duration: approx. 1 hour 40 minutes

Sophie Rowell's ANAM Faculty position is generously supported by Sieglind D’Arcy

Sophie Rowell appears courtesy of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra 

Presented in partnership with Musica Viva Australia 

*Commissioned by Musica Viva Australia 


Back to top