20th Century Masters

Season Concert_STEFAN DOHR 1_Web Image

This brass-centred showcase focuses on music by four 20th century masters, including rarely-played music by Ravel’s contemporary Albert Roussel. You’ll also experience four ages of Stravinsky; his 1950s Septet, which marked a bold change in his compositional priorities; one of his happiest works of the 1920s, his Octet; his gentle, youthful Pastorale and his Symphonies of Wind Instruments. Hindemith’s Konzertmusik is a piano concerto in all but name, in which the soloist engages in powerful exchanges with harps and brass. Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s work is a playful transformation of the kind of tunes one might dance to at a village fair in the Rhineland.

ROUSSEL Fanfare pour un sacre païen
STRAVINSKY Symphoniesof Wind Instruments
ZIMMERMANN Rheinische Kirmestänze
HINDEMITH Konzertmusik
ROUSSEL A glorious day

Stefan Dohr horn/director
Tabatha McFadyen soprano
ANAM Musicians

Duration: approx. 1.5 hours (including interval)


Tickets for this event can be purchased with a Platinum Membership or a Flexi Membership. Single tickets are on sale from Wednesday 30 January 2019.

“Stefan Dohr’s range of expression, stentorian and seductive by turns, was one of the stand-out contributions.” — The Guardian

Stefan Dohr’s ANAM residency is generouslysupported by Kerry Landman

Photo by Simon Pauly

*Please provide proof of concession if purchasing concession tickets (full time student card or pension card) or proof of eligibility if purchasing Under 30s tickets (includes those aged 30 or younger).

Back to top