West Australian Symphony Orchestra and ANAM present Side by Side.

In the summer of 1941, when Shostakovich played the first two movements of his Seventh Symphony to friends, German forces besieged Leningrad. In an extraordinary work that echoes the sounds of war, and explores heroism and humanity at its core, WASO is joined on stage by some of Australia’s most talented young and emerging artists from ANAM to bring Shostakovich’s massive score to life. Written for an orchestra that includes eight horns, six trombones, two harps, a piano, and a full complement of percussion instruments, Simone Young joins us to conduct this special side by side program.

PROKOFIEV Romeo and Juliet (selections)
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony no. 7 Leningrad

Simone Young conductor
West Australian Symphony Orchestra
ANAM Musicians

Presented by the West Australian Symphony Orchestra

ANAM and Simone Young are supported by the Minderoo Foundation

Photo by Philipp Rathmer

Back to top