ANAM Recital: Ruby Shirres (viola)


ANAM Recitals enable each musician to make their own personal musical statement, through performance, repertoire and presentation.

New renderings of canonic viola repertoire

Taken out of their original context, works of art take on alternate significance, becoming beautiful and meaningful for unexpected reasons. Great music can be rendered differently in every new instance of performance, hence its longevity and continued relevance, as well as its source of fascination for performers and audiences alike. It is for these reason that I am excited to perform such pillars of the repertoire and to share new renderings of some of our most beloved music.

HINDEMITH Sonata for solo viola, op. 25, no. 1
BRAHMS Viola Sonata no. 1 in F minor, op. 120 no. 1
BRUCH Selections from Eight Pieces for Clarinet, Viola and Piano, op. 83

Ruby Shirres VIC viola
Cameron Smith VIC clarinet
Aidan Boase piano

Photo by Pia Johnson

Back to top