ANAM Recital: Liam Wooding (piano)


ANAM Recitals enable each musician to make their own personal musical statement, through performance, repertoire and presentation.


Written in the 1920’s, the Ultra-Modernist/Scriabin-esque 9 Preludes by Ruth Crawford have been overlooked by history. Critics of the time said she can “sling dissonances as mean as any of them," referring to the male dominated field of composition in early 20th Century America. Ruth Crawford stands of an example of a trailblazer who deserves recognition and I'm excited to perform this work in what most likely is an Australian premiere.

New Zealand composer Michael F Williams experiments with combining sound-worlds in his new work Dialogue. This cross-cultural exploration features audio samples of the Duduk and Oud, two Middle Eastern instruments which engage in a dialogue with the piano. Mike is a lecturer at the University of Waikato where we first met, and this piece is the beginning of a larger project which explores the combination of piano and non-western instruments through new compositions.

To round out this program I'll be joined on stage with my work wife David Moran and I couldn't think of a better way to leave ANAM! Each movement in Jakub Jankowski - Composer's work Aspects of Return illustrates a different metaphor of return and is supplemented with a specific quotation.

  • I. Prologue: '...there is always the danger that the things we have neglected will return with added force.' - Carl Jung
  • II. Nocturne: 'Ever-newer waters flow on those who step into the same rivers.' - Heraclitus of Ephesus
  • III. Capriccio: 'And the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.' - TS Eliot

RUTH CRAWFORD 9 Preludes for piano
MICHAEL WILLIAMS Dialogue for oud, duduk, piano and electronics world premiere
JAKUB JANKOWSKI Aspects of Return for cello and piano

Liam Wooding NZ piano
David Moran SA cello

Photo by Pia Johnson

Back to top