Greenbaum Sonata Project: cello & double bass

The Greenbaum Sonata Project aims to create a substantial recital work for all major orchestral instruments. The four string sonatas were all written for ANAM musicians and are programmatically concerned with planet Earth, our Solar System and the Universe.

Sonata for Double Bass and Piano was commissioned by the Music Board of the Australia Council for the Arts. The Melbourne Museum has a display of six spinning globes showing the state of the planet from over four billion years ago through to futuristic prediction of continental drift 100 million years hence. This work is in six movements, providing a musical reflection of our planetary evolution.

Sonata for Cello and Piano is half an hour in duration, cast in a single movement. The subtitle, Another Earth, refers to the so-called ‘Goldilocks’ zone where a planet might be just the right distance from a given sun; neither too hot nor too cold to support liquid water, and therefore able to sustain life.

GREENBAUM Sonata for Double Bass and Piano Continental Drift (world premiere)
GREENBAUM Sonata for Cello and Piano Another Earth (world premiere)

Caleb Murray VIC cello
Hamish Gullick NSW double bass
Peter de Jager piano

Duration: approx. 1 hour


READ about the composer Stuart Greenbaum (pictured)
READ more about the Greenbaum Sonata Project

Back to top