She Speaks: Voice of Time

She Speaks_WEB

She Speaks is a series of concerts curated by ANAM Fellow Gemma Tomilnson celebrating female composition of varying eras, styles and nationalities. The three concerts presented continue the ongoing efforts of musicians passionate about exposing the extensive and meaningful contribution of women composers.

In Voice of Time, women who defied the cultural norms and fought to be heard over their male counterparts will be venerated, with music composed from Medieval through to Twentieth Century eras. With an underlying
intensity, the program for this concert evokes passion, spirituality, love and despair. And, in celebration of International Women's Day, the music will be presented by a cast of female musicians.

O virtus Sapientie
STROZZI Che si può fare
BOULANGER 3 Pieces for cello and piano
FANNY MENDELSSOHN String Quartet in E-flat major

Gemma Tomlinson curator/cello
Louisa Breen piano/harpsichord
Monica Curro violin
Beatrix Francis viola
Natalia Harvey violin
Cleo Lee-McGowan soprano
Lucy Price Baroque cello

Image by Cameron Jamieson

Back to top