She Speaks: Voice of Nations

She Speaks_WEB

She Speaks is a series of concerts curated by ANAM Fellow Gemma Tomilnson celebrating female composition of varying eras, styles and nationalities. The three concerts presented continue the ongoing efforts of musicians passionate about exposing the extensive and meaningful contribution of women composers.

In the final instalment of She Speaks, female composition from both Europe and America will be explored. Voice of Nations combines high-energy music from American composers Sarah Kirkland Snider, Anna Clyne and Missy Mazzoli, with the textural explorations of Sofia Gubaidulina, Sally Beamish and Kaija Saariaho.

KIRKLAND SNIDER Daughter of the Waves
SAARIAHO Sept Papillons
CLYNE Fits and Starts
MAZZOLI Still life with Avalanche

Gemma Tomlinson curator/cello
James Crabb classical accordion
Tamara Kohler flute
Jacob Abela piano
Madi Chwasta (VIC) percussion
Natalia Harvey violin
Eunise Cheng (WA) viola
Stuart Fisher electric guitar
Justin Beere clarinet
Sharon Hatton French horn
Fletcher Cox (WA) trumpet

Image by Cameron Jamieson

Back to top