Préludes [Book 1]

Preludes Book 1_credit Fleur Kilpatrick

Debussy100 is a 12-month project to mark the 100th anniversary of the death of Claude Debussy. Led by a collection of national and international pianists, hear the complete piano and chamber music of Claude Debussy, including 100 titled movements for the keyboard.

"Roy Howat possesses the qualities that transform a simple recital into a special event. His playing, a lesson in interpretation and a model of poetry, is of those who can captivate without demagogy, who can illuminate without pedantry."— La Tribune de Genève 

DEBUSSY Nocturne & Scherzo for cello and piano
DEBUSSY Intermezzo for cello & piano
L CHAN Sonata no. 1 (after Debussy)
DEBUSSY Ballade (slave)
DEBUSSY La plus que lente
DEBUSSY D'un cahier d'esquisses
DEBUSSY Préludes Book 1

Roy Howat piano
ANAM Musicians

2018 Packages and Memberships on sale now. Tickets for this event can be purchased with a Platinum Membership or a Flexi Membership 


Single tickets are on sale from 29 January 2018.

Debussy100 project presented in partnership with ABC Classic FM

Roy Howat’s ANAM residency is generously supported by John and Meredith Baldwin

Image by Fleur Kilpatrick

Learn more

"[Howat is] renowned as an interpreter with an encyclopaedic knowledge of the minutiae of Debussy's piano musc" - Robert Orledge, The Musical Times

Roy Howat’s book The Art of French piano music was chosen as 2009 Book of the Year by International Piano, and earned citations including ‘Outstanding’ in International Record Review and ‘Editor’s Choice’ in Classical Music.  Equally enthusiastic reviews have appeared in Musical Times, Piano and Gramophone.


Back to top