

Jan Williams is a percussion soloist and conductor. Composers who have written works especially for him include Lukas Foss, John Cage, Elliott Carter, Morton Feldman, Iannis Xenakis, Frederic Rzewski, Joel Chadabe, Orlando Garcia, Gustavo Matamoros, Luis de Pablo, and Nils Vigeland. He appears internationally as percussionist, conductor, and educator throughout the United States, Europe, New Zealand and Australia and has recorded for Columbia, Wergo, DGG, Hat-Art, frozen reeds, Mode, New World, Vox/Turnabout, Desto, Lovely Music, Spectrum, Orion, OO, Deep Listening and EMF Records.

In 1964, Williams was selected as one of the first class of Creative Associates for the Center of the Creative and Performing Arts at the University at Buffalo. He remained at the University at Buffalo where he created the University at Buffalo Percussion Ensemble in 1964, was appointed to the music faculty in 1967, served as Chair of the Music Department 1981-1984, and retired as Professor Emeritus in 1996. He also served as Artistic Director of the Center of the Creative and Performing Arts 1974-1979 and as its Resident Conductor 1976-1980. He co-directed the North American New Music Festival with Yvar Mikhashoff 1983-1993. Williams was a member of the Percussion Jury for Germany's prestigious ARD International Music Competition in 1997, 2001 and 2014. He is Trustee of the Yvar Mikhashoff Trust for New Music - www.mikhashofftrust.org